Hey, it’s Alison…

I just thought I’d write you, friend, to get some thoughts off my heart and mind.

Each day it seems I feel more settled here.  That’s not really what I want, though.  Sometimes it’s a bit unsettling to think about what our transition back to Peru will be like.  I guess if I had planned on being here for these 6 weeks and knew when I was returning, it might all seem normal.  But, that’s not the case.  We don’t know the plan.  It really is an odd feeling.

In some moments I find myself wondering about our teammates and what they’re doing.  I try to picture where they are, and how that looks.  Who showed up to church today?  Were there more than 3 women at Steph’s exercise class this morning?  Did Stacy and Anna (a friend in Peru) meet this week to talk about the Bible study we were going to do together?  I wonder if the other kids think Cailyn and Corban just up and left for good.  I mean, Cailyn has asked me if that’s the case, so why wouldn’t they ask the same?  Who taught the 5th graders their English today?  I wonder if Claudia has tried to call me today, since I never told her I was even leaving.  And, the list goes on…

I bought 2 Jillian Michaels work-out DVDs a couple of days ago.  That’s my attempt at not developing the unwanted ring around my belly.  Boo.  Mom has done them with me 2 days in a row now.  It’s been good. 🙂  Now, if I can just get through the holidays here.  THAT will be a feat!  Will we even be here for the holidays?  Oh, how I would LOVE to be back in Peru.  We were supposed to ALL be there for Christmas.  Nobody has any family visiting, and we had all already talked about how neat it would be to truly celebrate Christmas together, as a team…as a family.  God knows that’s my desire.  I am learning that His plan is always better.  Even when I miss out on things I am so sad to miss.

Speaking of, our dear Peruvian friends, Mirko and Leidy, are due with their first SON in early November.  I ache that I will not be there to see it.  I remember the night Steph and I had coffee with Leidy and she shared their journey of trying to start a family and asked us to pray ever so hard that next month that God would provide them with a child.  What a JOY it was to experience the prayer and to then get the news that God had answered with a “YES!”  I bought them a baby gift the first week we were here in TX, because I sure didn’t want to forget and get back without a gift for her shower.  I’m pretty sure it’s in a couple of days.  Guess I’ll have to deliver that later.  Lord, I would love to meet Mathias before he’s 3 months old!

I am enjoying the Bible study I bought to do while I was here.  “He Speaks to Me: Preparing to Hear from God”, by Priscilla Shirer.  Today I appreciated the challenge to use self-control in order to be a more powerful Christian witness.  Hmmm.  I will be thinking this week about what things in my life need a bit more self-control added to them.

We’ve decided to drive to Grand Forks, North Dakota.  Crazy, I know.  Justin’s dad and step mom live there…not to mention half of his family as well.  We are SOOOO excited to go, but unfortunately, plane tickets are definitely out of our reach financially.  We haven’t been there in like 2 years.  We’ve seen Luke and Shannon (J’s parents) since then, but we haven’t been to ND.  So……..we will drive.  2 days in the car…Mark, our teammate’s car.  Have I mentioned that our teammates have all been incredibly supportive throughout all of this?  Mark has been the one making sure all of our rent, bills, etc get paid…HUGE.  Thanks, Mark. 🙂

I’m a bit nervous about our 18-20 (or however long it is) hour drive, but hopefully we’ll make it there in one piece.  I totally need to get on the ball with thinking through what I will pack in the car to make it more bearable.  Think, Think, Think!

Well, those are all of my random thoughts here on this Thursday afternoon.  Thanks for reading them.

Alison

4 responses to “Hey, it’s Alison…

  1. Alison, my heart goes out to you. I know it is really hard for you right now, but I am thankful that you have the attitude that “his ways are higher than our ways.” Won’t it be incredible to look back at this time 5 years from now and see what God was doing? Stay strong. We are praying for you.

  2. GURLLLL! I miss you SO bad and don’t worry Maddox and Sofia ask about KK everyday and ask why she is STILL in the US, HAHA. We pass by your house every once in a while just to make sure it’s still there:) and to just feel normal. We had a meeting yesterday and missed you guys tons. It feels “off” without you guys here. We are praying for the day that you come back to your “home.” Don’t worry no one new is coming to the exercise classes and everyone still wonders where in the world you are. I will tell Leidy you have something for her when you get back (her shower is Saturday.) Again, know that I miss you more than you know and I’m ALSO trying not to ring around my belly without my accountability partner! Love you
    Steph

  3. We’re praying for you guys. I’ve been so impressed with your attitude through all of this. I know it must be a really tough time in a lot of ways, but I know God is blessing your time there as well.

Leave a Reply

