Car trips

Well, tomorrow marks a month since we left to come back to the States.  Part of me feels like I will be saying that again next month…there goes 2 months.  But…who knows.  There are moments when it feels like yesterday that we came, and in other moments I feel like we’ve been here forever.  Yeah, the slice-and-bake cookies, trips to Wal-Mart, great restaurants, and rootbeers are totally welcome in many respects, but I am definitely beginning to pack on some extra weight that is most definitely NOT welcome!  I’m missing my intense latin-ish Full Body workout classes at Peru’s Gold’s Gym right about now…not just for my weight, but for my insanity, too! 🙂

All in all, we are good.  The last two weekends consisted of lots of traveling.  We went to the DFW area two weekends ago for 4 nights, and we were in Austin/Bastrop this past weekend for 2 nights.  We have it on the calendar to head to Lubbock this next weekend for a couple of nights, but thanks to my parents, the kids get to stay behind for that trip.  The traveling is just hard with them.  They do well, but sleeping in a new bed every few nights is just hard.  We spent the night with my grandparents this past Sunday night, and the next day, after her nap, as I was telling Cailyn we needed to get our things together since we were leaving to go back to Honey and Daddy-O’s house that night, she asks me,

“Is this not going to be our bedroom anymore?”

Hmm.  I sort of wanted to cry.

Today in the Dr.’s office (yes, we’ve been to the Dr. like 3 times in the past 2 weeks), we were talking about dogs and their names, and Cailyn pointed out that we had met several new dogs recently.  That is a sign that you’ve been in too many different people’s homes…haha.  I sat there and thought about it, and I came up with 5 new doggie friends we’d made in the last 2 weeks.  Too. Many.

And, just to share one last thing about Cailyn.  She’s been talking a lot about her team friends in Peru, and we’ve talked a lot about “when we see them…this” or “when we see them…that”.  So, finally, a week or so ago, she just came out and asked the BIG question.

“Are we even going back to Peru?”

It’s hard to know how to explain all of this to her, but it has presented a good opportunity for us to talk about waiting on the Lord, listening for his leading, and provision.  She accepts those explanations, thankfully.

SOOOOO…not to make this a downer post.  Here are some of the things that I LOOOOVE about being here!!

  • Corban has learned how to say “puppy” and use it till he’s B.L.U.E.IN.THE FACE.  (or, maybe just till we’re blue in the face!)
  • We get to trick-or-treat here…so fun!
  • We’ve enjoyed the public library several times, and they have an adorable Tot Time on Tuesdays
  • I have 2 extra sets of hands for the kids!
  • I have gotten to spend time with some LONG time girlfriends since being here…so refreshing!
  • I am learning just how much I love my teammates since being gone from them so long!
  • I am also learning just how great Peru is in many ways…I can walk into my pediatrician’s office there and be seen within 5-10 min. EVERY time!
  • Dad and Mom have introduced us to the board game Settlers of Catan (well, we had played like once before), and we LOVE it!
  • Oh…and so much more.

Just a short and tiny update on what we’re doing in the way of FUN-raising (as our teammate, Wes calls it) 🙂

God seems to have revealed to us in the past few weeks that we will most likely be piecing together our salary and working fund for 2011.  We feel good about this, and God has already used many of you to help make that amount of money seem more manageable.  We are currently seeking one-time gifts in order to help us make it through the end of next year.  If any of you desire to help us do this, or if you know someone or a group of someones that would like to help, please let us know!  Aside from this, we are in the process of having conversations with some churches about the possibility of them being our main supporting church for the year 2012.  In the same way, if you attend a church or know of a church that might be a good fit for us and our work in Peru, contact us!  We welcome any ideas or leads!

We would very much appreciate your prayers as we continue to work through what our future support might look like.  God has used SO many of you out there to abundantly bless our lives already.  We cannot say thank you enough, honestly.

And, just so I don’t stop without any pictures…

Notice the small yellow tube in Cailyn’s hands…it’s holding Mini M&M’s.  The perfect car trip treat, right?

Well, perfect for a 3 year old…not a 1 year old with chubby hands and an inability to keep from dumping his snack all down in his carseat…that would be a mess, right?  Chocolate all melted down there.  Not happening.  So, we bought him one, too, but we left the plastic seal on it.  He thought shaking it was all the fun there was to be had…oh, until he realized that Sister’s had something coming out of it!

Don’t worry, she shared. 🙂  Well, all of about 3 of those mini M&M’s.  We didn’t show him how many were actually in there…

It takes some skill on both of their parts to pass one of those tiny things between the two of them.  I was proud…we had NO chocolate residue on either chair.  We’ve got 2 VERY talented kids! 😉 (haha)

5 responses to “Car trips

  1. I was thinking about you today and thought I should write to ask how everything was going. Thank you for the lengthy update. I know it is a rough go right now, but it sounds like God has blessed you with the support network you need there. We are still praying for you all and cannot wait for you to come back to Peru!

  2. Praying for you daily… we love you and are so thankful for your hearts and willingness to serve others. Keep us posted!

  3. First of all, I am SOOO glad I saw y’all at homecoming! It was wonderful to catch up a little. I continue to pray for God to reveal His plan. Second of all, BASTROP?! No way! What were y’all doing there? My oldest sister and her family live there, and I grew up about 30 minutes from there in La Grange. 🙂

  4. Hey friend! I miss secretly knowing when you are in town by seeing your car across the street. 🙂 We do love our new place so I don’t miss that part of it.

    I was so disappointed to hear about your situation but we know that God’s plans are always the right plans. We will continue to pray for you guys and that His plan will be clearly revealed.

    If you are even in CS and need some friends to play with, give us a call!

    Love the pics, too. My kids don’t share M&M’s peacefully. Oh wait, they don’t share M&M’s at all.

Leave a Reply

