Momma’s Day

That’s what Cailyn calls me.  Momma.  I’m not sure when it went from mommy to Momma, but it did.  We never referred to me as Momma, but I love that she calls me that.  I’m “Ma Ma Ma” to the other tiny thing in our house.  I love that just as much.  Funny how the tiniest of people can completely steal your heart.

Recently, I’ve been made aware of some specific situations that some older mothers than me (some not much more than me and others my parent’s age) have gone through with their children.  Hurtful things.  Some due to their children’s decisions and others due to how others treat their children.  It’s not like I haven’t known situations like this before, but there’s something about being a mother myself…more recently a mother of two…that makes hearing these things that much harder.  So much goes into making these little people into the big people we hope them to be.  What a responsibility and honor it is.  Hard, but oh, so rewarding.  Then, to have them hurt and go through struggle…it’s just that much more difficult.

I’m not trying to be all sad or anything the day after Mother’s Day, but it’s just such a reminder of how much your kids take over your emotions.  God, grant me wisdom, patience, understanding, compassion, and the ability to love deeply as I try and mother my children.  Thank you for the examples I have in my mother and mother-in-law as well as so many other godly women.  Thank you for gifting me with precious Cailyn and Corban.  I’m overwhelmed with love!

Mother’s Day (still in bed…) 2010

…receiving my sweet card…

One response to “Momma’s Day

Leave a Reply

