I didn’t mean to wait this long!

When I was writing our Christmas post and mentioned that I would be updating you all on Corban, I actually thought to myself, “maybe I’ll wait a week and post again.”  oops.

Anyway, my first exciting topic (at least from my perspective…haha) is that we had a very successful time with our FIRST PERUVIAN GROUP on Sunday!  The Fletcher family and our family teamed up and invited several people we have met in our neighborhoods to come and enjoy lunch, fellowship, and insight into what we hope to do in the future with them.  Our dear friend and teammate, Stephanie, wrote a wonderful post with pictures and all.  So, since I have no pictures (we used their camera), I urge you all to (please!) go and check out her post on our experience!  She also gives some details about our worship times as a team, and there are some cute pictures from our last meeting time.  So, I hope you all will take the time to read that as if it were here on my blog.  Thanks, and please pray for us as we continue to work toward inviting more people that we meet to study the Word with us!

Second order of business…

Corban.  Wow, he will be 5 months old in 5 more days.  Is that possible??  I saw a small baby crawling tonight at the park as we took a family walk, and I just couldn’t help but think about how he is near that stage.  At times I feel like it isn’t fair that time is flying by so fast, but I’m of course excited to watch him grow.  So, here he is, in all his glory…and here’s some info. on what he’s up to:

We started feeding him rice cereal almost a month ago, and he did amazingly well.  So, now he eats that, bananas, and apples.  I hope to introduce a veggie next.  I’ve just done homemade food so far, and I’ve enjoyed it.  So, hopefully I can keep up with that.

This was the 4th time or so he had tried the cereal.  Still getting used to it, as you can see…

He began rolling over from is back to his front just before he turned 4 months old…here he is in action…showing off for the grandparents/aunts and uncles…

and…almost there…

and, he made it!

so, basically, he’s ALL OVER the place now.  He doesn’t crawl really, but he can for sure move around to get where he wants or to whatever toy/item he wants.  He’s extremely attentive, and when he sees something he wants, he doesn’t give up!

case and point…

he’s focused on that paci.  it took a minute, but he got it back in.

So, another sort of big deal thing for him is that his mom let him fall out of his swing about 2 weeks ago.  Horrible, I know!  He slept in our bed for a couple of weeks in the beginning of his life, and after that, he napped and slept the night in his Papasan Cradle Swing.  Anyway, for a while, it would swing every time he slept, but around 3 months or so, we stopped that, and he just slept in it with no movement.  I know, I am admitting a bad habit to all my blog readers.  Silly, I know, but we did the same thing with Cailyn in the beginning.  Hey, it works for us.  Anyway, one night, I forgot to latch him in.  OH MY …I know.  Around 3am, I woke up to a thud on the ground and screaming.  I felt absolutely terrible/horrible/awful (fill in whatever bad word you can think of), and I was so nervous to let him go back to bed.  Anyway, he was fine, but needless to say, I made Justin set up our pack-n-play bed in our room the next day.  So, he’s normal now and sleeps horizontal like babies probably should.

Other fun (and some not so fun for me) facts:

-He giggles all the time at Justin.  I can make him laugh, but Justin makes him hysterical!

-He loves his big sister, and he even manages to coo and smile amidst being laid on, pushed around, kissed all over, etc. (Cailyn’s going through a sort of rough time now with knowing what is too rough and what is ok.  I wish I could say she was ignorant, but she’s not.  We need prayers…haha.  But…I also don’t want to overlook the fact that she can be incredibly sweet and loving to him…Jekyll and Hyde I tell ya!)

-He drools so much I should probably worry about dehydration.  No, I’m kidding…sort of.

-He still wakes up a lot at night.  Boo.  Like 3 times.  Yes, I feed him every time…well, not like a full meal, but you know.  I probably shouldn’t, but it’s easier.  So, coincidentally, he still sleeps in our room.  Cailyn was sleeping through the night already at this point.  We’ll probably wait a month or so and then begin using the Ferber Method (cry it out) again.  It worked wonders for Cailyn when we decided she needed to be able to fall asleep on her own initially.  Except now…we have another kid that might wake up due to the crying that is likely to go on.  Not looking forward to that.  Again, we need prayers. 😉

-He has a similar high-pitched scream like Cailyn, but he just doesn’t exercise it as often.  Thank you, Corban.

-I’ve never been a nickname person.  I didn’t grow up in a family that really did that, and I’ve never really been one to give others nicknames or shortened names of endearment, if you will.  And…I have to admit, I have totally thought things like, “that’s silly”, “Why would they call their kid that?”, and “who would share something like this on their blog?” when I’ve read lists of nicknames that people I know have shared with their blog readers.  Rude…I know.  I can’t believe I’m admitting that, and I am so sorry if you happen to be one of those people I’m referring to, although I have no ONE specific person in mind.  ANYWAY…I have to completely swallow my own rude words, because I am here to say that I have several nicknames for Corban.  I never did that, ever, with Cailyn, but I have with our son.  I have no idea why the change, but he is just so easy to find nicknames for.  Cailyn has heard me on occasion, and she currently calls Corban, Corbsies, due to my lack of restraint with the nickname-calling.  I will now list..yes, I said it…list the things I call him, and you can all laugh at me or make fun of how silly they sound.  So, Corban, a.k.a: Corbs, Corbsies (Cailyn’s fave), Boo, Bub, Bubbs, Bubba, Bubsters, and Bud.  Anyway, I can guarantee most of these won’t stick due to the fact that Justin probably won’t want his son being called something like “Bubsters” after some time goes by.  We’ll let mom decide that. 😉

-His eyes seem to be a very, very light brown some days.  Other days…still blue.  We’ll see.

-We love him to pieces!

I love this next picture, because it shows Corban watching Cailyn as she is playing with him…he loves her so much!  *Fyi…soon after this picture was taken, I had to explain that we weren’t going to send Corban flying across the room in his rocker.  She thought it was fun, and honestly, so did he.  Why did I have to stop their fun?

Hopefully I won’t wait so long to post again.  That’s all for now.  Blessings to all!

3 responses to “I didn’t mean to wait this long!

  1. He is such a cutie. I can’t believe how close he is to crawling. Can you believe that he and Mags (there is my nickname-haha) might be walking for our Peruvian Missionary Retreat? I think with this second one it is even more obvious how fast everything goes by. Maggie turns 6 months tomorrow and we are about to start the veges. Thanks for sharing your pictures.

  2. Hi Allison! Thanks for leaving a comment on my blog a few weeks ago. It was very encouraging. I love knowing that you read my blog because I most definitely read yours and have been for some time now. Your kids are absolutely precious.

    Corban seems like such a good baby. So sorry about the fall incident. I am certain that every mom has a similar story. 🙂

Leave a Reply

