20 Things

It’s funny how different seasons of life make you realize you aren’t necessarily as you thought you were.  I have learned a lot about myself in the past 9 months (including my recent month here in the States).  I just thought I would jot down some of those things for the sake of doing so.  Also, I have not been good at journaling, and typing in this moment seems so much faster.  So, I wanted to record some of the things I have learned and felt as I grew this last year – things I want to be able to look back on in a few years.  Oh…this post won’t have any pictures, just in case you were wondering.  Sorry.

What I have learned:

1.  I am a bit more sensitive than I thought I was.  Crying has just come naturally at times that it would not have in the past.

2.  Worship time in English was something I never dreamed would be the thing I missed the most while away in CR.  Why that didn’t cross my mind before I left, I will never know.

3.  I didn’t miss shopping for some of those more material items as much as I thought I might while in CR.

4.  With that said, I have LOVED going to Target the few times I have gotten the chance while we’ve been here in the States. =)

5.  Although I consider myself to be laid back, parenting Cailyn has brought out a new side of me in some more heated moments that I have not necessarily liked.  I am still praying through that.

6.  I still know that Justin is the only person I would want to be with on this adventure called Life.

7.  When given the opportunity, I can still eat TONS of mint Oreos all by myself (and in one day).  That is one thing I have become reacquainted with while being in the USA.

8.  There were emotions I experienced in CR that I still do not completely understand and honestly am even aware of.  I realized this when I almost started crying this past Wed. night at church while telling Donna Heffington, a dear friend of my family’s, about some of our experiences.  I held back my tears.

9.  Cailyn is a strong child.

10.  God always knows best.  He puts just the right people in my life at the right times.  Praise Him for that!

11.  If I will listen to God and act on those things that He and the Spirit are clearly laying on my heart to do, I will always benefit.  With God, I cannot go wrong, and hindsight is always 20/20.

12.  I cannot live off of rice and beans forever.  I HAVE to have some variety!

13.  While I would not consider myself to have gone through extreme culture shock (on either end…going to CR or coming home), I have been affected by the differences of life there and here.  I know that Peru will bring forward some feelings and emotions I have never felt before.  Phil. 4:13

14.  I am a little nervous to have my baby in Peru…for anyone who was wondering.  No, I am not just completely fine with it, but I am also certain that God will protect me and give me the experience He wishes me to have.

15.  I couldn’t have made it without Skype.

16.  God overwhelmed us with his faithfulness when we had to do some extra fundraising at the last minute beginning in about Feb. of this year.  He has provided us with families and individuals that have far exceeded our expectations.

17.  We are still 100% sure that God is blessing our relationship with our supporting church, Fairlane Church of Christ.

18.  I was very sad to see all of my teammates (minus Mark…we were so glad to have him there with us the entire time) leave us by January in CR, and it was a very emotional time for me in a way I was not expecting.  Thank you, God, for affirming me and helping me see that these are the people you desire for me to work with.

19.  I still very much LOVE Beth Moore’s Bible Studies.  She is so talented, and God sent me several women and friends in CR that I was able to share study time with through 2 of her Bible Studies.

20.  I am more excited to get to Lima, Peru than I imagined I would be!  Peru, here we come!

I hope this was a good glimpse into my life and some of the feelings going on in me.  It has been wonderful to see so many friends and family while we’ve been here, but I also know there are people we could not see or got to see for just a short time that might be wondering about us.  Please continue to pray for us as we transition!

6 responses to “20 Things

  1. Hey Alison,
    thanks for sharing. This makes me miss you…I’m excited for y’all to get to Peru finally. What a year it has been.

  2. Sweet Alison, praying for you!

    “If I rise on the wings of the dawn, if I settle on the far side of the sea, even there your hand will guide me, your right hand will hold me fast.” Ps 139

  3. Amen and Amen to numbers 14 and 15. I will let you know how #14 goes for me. 🙂 Be thankful you will be in the city where they tell me that they will send me if there are any major complications.
    We can’t wait for you guys to be here. We will be making a trip to Lima soon after our little girl is born to visit the embassy. I am sure we will see each other then! You will cherish these thoughts a year from now. Thanks for sharing.

  4. Very moving and honest thoughts. Thanks for sharing. Always good to visit with you and see you. We are really proud of you guys.

    Praying for a smooth and easy transition for the 4 of you.

Leave a Reply

