Catching Up

We had a wonderful time with family the entire week of Thanksgiving. We were blessed to have a lot of time with them, and it was a reminder of how great our family is. We are very fortunate! We got to eat our Thanksgiving meal at my parents house, but the great part about having both families in College Station is that Justin’s mom, Andy (step-dad), sister, and brother also ate with us. We usually share our time with my dad’s older sister’s family too, so they were there as well. It was a great feast! Here are a few pictures from our time in College Station…

Is there any question as to whether or not Cailyn gets her looks from Justin’s side of the family?!

I do have one confession to make about my experience this Thanksgiving. I am a little embarrassed to even admit this, but then again…I had tons of fun! My mom and sister agreed to wake up with me and go shopping at 4:30am the day after Thanksgiving!! I know…ridiculous. See, we aren’t the type of shoppers that were out there in line for hours to get that big screen TV that was crazy inexpensive or the iPod deal that you just couldn’t pass up…we just went for the experience. Recently I have decided that Kohl’s Department Store just might be my favorite place to shop, and I saw that it was opening at 4am that morning, so of course, that is where we went first. It was some experience! As the three of us parked the car and headed into the store around 4:30am (already 30 min. too late to really get the good deals…haha), we literally laughed out loud together at the people leaving the store with BAGS AND BAGS of STUFF! “Are we really doing this?!” I do accept most of the responsibility for the idea of even getting out to shop at such an insane hour. My sister and mom claimed they were in on it because that might have been the last Thanksgiving they could do this with me for some time (although, I think they were just using that as an excuse – they wanted to go just as bad as I did!). So…we weathered the crowds and actually got to some great deals. God knew we weren’t the types that could handle a 2 hour long line, and coincidentally, new and shorter lines popped open at each store right about the time we needed to check out. It was great! Seems unfair to those who had been waiting for so long…don’t worry, mom always went and told the people in the back of the LONG lines about the line we had just gone through. Some ladies at Kohl’s wouldn’t believe her until she actually showed them her receipt!…we got a good laugh out of that. When it was all said and done, we had hit up about 5 stores and the mall and had shopped for most of the day…great times! The best part was that Justin graciously spent the day with Cailyn so I could have both hands free to shop. He was a trooper! After Thanksgiving, Justin and I were flipping through the channels at home, and we stopped on the 700 Club show only to hear their opinions of people who wake up to shop as early as we did. They claim that these people have forgotten what the Season is all about. Well, I guess that could be true. Nevertheless, we had a blast, and I couldn’t help laughing as I heard them talking on TV thinking of how we actually got up so early to shop. I LOVED it!

So…it snowed in Abilene over Thanksgiving!!! Too bad WE WERE’NT HERE! I was so upset. Cailyn almost missed her first snow, but luckily we got home the last night it was snowy. Here are some pictures of our house the night we got back into town from the Holiday.

Cailyn loved her marshmallow-looking snow jacket that we are borrowing from her friend Sofia Fletcher…it will come in handy when we head to North Dakota this Christmas! We are so excited about that trip!!

DSC_0092 DSC_0097

We quickly pulled out all of our Christmas decorations so that we could get the house decorated before we left town again three days later.

Cailyn really helped decorate, wrap gifts, and hang ornaments…well…sort of…

DSC_0156 DSC_0164

Then, this past Wednesday, we met my parents in San Antonio on the River Walk for some great fun. Dad was there for a conference with work, and mom got to go with him. We spent the time with them walking around and enjoying the hotel on the river for a few days. The hotel was decorated for Christmas, so we had fun taking pictures of Cailyn in her Christmas dress. She did so great, and I think it was mainly due to the fact that hoards of women from the conference that my dad was at watched while we snapped shots. Their “oos” and “aahhs” really made Cailyn smile. I have a feeling she felt a little too proud of herself sitting there amongst the tree and presents (yes…she is sitting up alone about 85% of the time these days!)…like I’ve said before…she’s a ham!

DSC_0350DSC_0280

DSC_0295DSC_0385

You can check out more pictures from most of what I’ve talked about on our flickr site by clicking on the link on the right that says “more pictures”. We have been really busy, and we are going to continue staying busy as the year ends. I cannot believe the year is coming to a close. This year has been so great for our family, and I look back over the last 11 months with a smile knowing we are abundantly blessed! Happy Holidays!

One response to “Catching Up

  1. Thompsons!
    I am so glad y’all had such a great holiday with the fam! Cailyn is SO precious, I can’t believe how much she is growing! Hope I run into you somewhere this busy holiday season….love y’all!
    Katie

Leave a Reply

